Golden Kite, Golden Dreams: the SCBWI Awards Retrospective

A retrospective of works featuring the SCBWI Golden Kite Medal winners and honorees, an award bestowed by the Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators (SCBWI), opened at the National Center for Children’s Illustrated Literature (NCCIL) in the summer of 2010. Curated by David Diaz, this was the first retrospective of the kind---featuring award winners and honorees from 1974 to 2010. Golden Kite, Golden Dreams: the SCBWI Awards featured artwork from some of the most prestigious, influential and talented artists, many of whom are also Caldecott Award Winners, in media ranging from ink, pencil, acrylic, gouache and watercolors to paper cutting. Forty-six artists with seventy-three pieces of artwork are featured in this show.

“Children’s book illustration has not always been appreciated as fine art. But those of us who work in the field of children’s literature, know that it can be, and often does, rise to great heights. As the show tours the country we plan to coordinate with our local chapters to bring professional workshops, school outreach, and local publicity to the exhibit so that thousands of others can see, and know, what we have long been aware of, that some of the greatest artists working today are working in the field of children’s picture book illustration.” ~Steve Mooser and Lin Oliver, Founding Members of SCBWI

This exhibition highlighted the variety, diversity and high standards that the Society of Children’s Books Writers and Illustrators (SCBWI) sets for Golden Kite Award recognition. Instituted in 1974, the Golden Kite Award is given annually by the Society to recognize excellence in children’s literature in four categories: Fiction, Nonfiction, Picture Book Text, and Picture Book Illustration. Golden Kite Awards are the only children’s literary award judged by a jury of peers. With this exhibit SCBWI hoped to bring the Golden Kite winning artwork to a wide audience.

Participating artists included: Aki Sogabe, Amy Walrod, Barbara Lavallee, Barbara Helen Berger, Barbara McClintock, Beth Krommes, Carlyn Beccia, Carol Lerner, David Shannon, Dennis Nolan, Lauren Mills, Diane de Groat, Don Wood, Donna Diamond, Erick Ingraham, Hyewon Yum, Janet Stevens, Jean Cassels, Jerry Pinkney, John Parra, Kathy Jacobi,  Keith Baker, Kevin Hawkes, Kristen Balouch, Kurt Werth, Larry Day, Laura McGee Kvasnosky, Lauren Stringer, Loren Long, Lynn Sweat, Marla Frazee, Alice and Martin Provensen, Melissa Sweet, Ponder Goembel, Richard Jesse Watson, Robert Sabuda, Sid Fleishman, Susan Jeffers, Tim Coffey, Tomie dePaolo, Trina Schart Hyman, Uri Shulevitz, William Joyce, Yuyi Morales.