Celebrating Twenty years of Art

Celebrate 20 years of art with the National Center for Children’s Illustrated Literature! A special exhibition featuring art from previous NCCIL artists on display at the NCCIL gallery.

For twenty years, the NCCIL has been celebrating the best artwork in children’s books and the illustrators that create them! In 1997, NCCIL opened its doors to become the first truly independent museum to organize, exhibit and travel exhibitions of original art from children’s books.  Since then, the NCCIL has become an important thread in the fabric of children’s book publishing, an achievement recognized by the state of TX, when it named Abilene the Storybook Capital of Texas! Since it's inception, the NCCIL has organized over 60 unique exhibitions which have toured 39 states and 112 cities. It has hosted more than 2,00,000 students for their school tour program, and donated over 10,000 books to school libraries and classrooms- all this while keeping its admission and programming FREE-year round!

Artists featured in this special 20 Years of Art exhibition are artists: Mary Azarian, Berenstain Family (Jan, Stan & Mike), Ashley Bryan, Eric Carle, Bryan Collier, Raúl Colón, The Crews Family (Ann Jonas, Donald Crews and Nina Crews), Mark Crilley, Etienne Delessert, David Diaz, Leo & Diane Dillon, Theodor Seuss Geisel, Brian Floca, Denise Fleming, Marla Frazee, Golden (Legacy) Book Artists, Golden Kite Artists, Matthew Holm, Kevin Henkes, Ezra Jack Keats, Jarrett J. Krosoczka,  William Joyce, Betsy & Ted Lewin, Anita Lobel, Deborah Nourse Lattimore, David Macaulay, Fred Marcellino, Gerald McDermott, Wendell Minor, Jon J Muth, Lincoln Peirce, Brian Pinkney, Jerry Pinkney, Alice & Martin Provensen, James E. Ransome, Chris Raschka, Matthew Reinhart, Eric Rohmann, Robert Sabuda, Allen Say, Brian Selznick, David Shannon, Peter Sís, David Small, Diane Stanley, Raina Telgemeier, William Steig, Janet Stevens, Mark Teague, Walter Wick, David Wiesner, Mo Willems, Garth Williams, Mike Wimmer, N. C. Wyeth, Dan Yaccarino, Ed Young,   Paul O. Zelinsky